After football perhaps cricket is the most popular, entertaining, and exciting game which is played by almost half of the countries of the world, and all countries that play cricket are members of the ICC. ICC (International Cricket Council) is the body that controls cricket all over the world.

Formats of Cricket

Cricket has a variety of formats starting from the longer to shorten version, the longer version of cricket is the test cricket which is played for five days then we have four days and three days cricket matches. Four days of cricket matches are normally played between A teams of all international test cricket playing countries while three days of cricket are played as practice or warm-up matches between the visiting team and local team before the start of the tour or test series. One-day international (ODI) consists of 50 over the game in which each team plays 50 overs inning. There is a Twenty-20 format called T-20 and a very exciting one. The game is over within three hours and each team plays 20 overs per inning. Another format also introduced is Ten-10 (T-10) in which each team plays 10 overs. This is the shortest version of cricket.

Cricket Playing Countries

There are 104 countries that play cricket under the supervision and control of the International Cricket Counce (ICC). The total countries of in the world that play cricket is 106 but due to the suspension of two associate members Morocco and Turkey, the active number of playing countries is 104. These countries are divided into two groups 1. Full Members and 2. Associate Members

Full Member Countries

The test-playing countries have been given the status of full members by ICC (International Cricket Council). The number of full member countries is 12 and they have been picked from all five continents. South Africa and Zimbabwe are from the continent Africa, West Indies is from Continent America, while Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka are from continent Asia. Two countries Australia and New Zealand from content East-Asia Pacific and England and Ireland are from the content of Europe.

IndiaIrelandPakistanSri Lanka
South AfricaNew ZealandWest IndiesZimbabwe

Associate Member Countries

Associate members are 92 from five continents ie Africa, America, Asia, East-Asia Pacific, and Europe. Although there are 94 associate member countries listed below the membership of Morocco and Turkey are suspended by ICC in 2015 so the active associate members are 92


Country in Africa playing cricket

The following countries are associate members of the ICC from the continent of Africa. The membership of Morocco is suspended in 2015

SeychellesSierra LeoneSaint HelenaEswatini


American countries playing cricket

The following countries are the associate members of ICC from the continent of America

BrazilCanadaCayman IslandsChile
Costa RicaFalkland IslandMexicoPanama
PeruSurinameTurks and Caicos IslandUSA


Asian countries playing cricket

The following countries are the associate members of the ICC from the continent of Aisa

BahrainBhutanChinaHong Kong
QatarSaudi ArabiaSingaporeTajikistan

East – Asia Pacific

East Asian countries playing cricket

Below is the list of countries that are associate members of ICC from the continent of East-Asia pacific

Cook IslandsFijiIndonesiaJapan
Papua New GuineaPhilippinesSamoaSouth Korea


European countries playing cricket

The following countries are associate members of ICC from the continent of Europe. The membership of turkey is suspended in 2015

CyprusCzech RepublicDenmarkEstonia
GreeceGuernseyHungaryIsle of Man

For more amazing articles visit our website Follow us on Facebook. To search our articles click on the search bar.