Host of Cricket World Cup 1992

Australia and New Zealand are the combined host of the cricket world cup 1992 played from 22 February 1992 to 25 March 1992. the official name of the tournament was the Benson & Hedges World Cup 1992.

Teams and Format of Cricket World Cup 1992

A total of 9 teams take part in the tournament which is played in the round robin and knockout format. Each team played with each team and the top four teams qualified for the semi-finals which were played in a knockout format. A total of 39 matches were played during the competition.

New ZealandEnglandSouth AfricaPakistanAustralia
West IndiesIndiaSri LankaZimbabwe

Why World Cup was not played in 1991

First, the ICC (Internationa Cricket Counsel) scheduled the tournament in late 1991 with 8 teams will participate and 31 matches will be played. out of which 28 matches of round robin league and 2 semi-finals, and a final. Then ICC lifted the ban from the South African team after 21 years and included South Africa as the 9th team and 8 more matches were added to the competition and the event was rescheduled for February- March 1992

Captains of Cricket World Cup 1992

Australia – Allan Border

England – Graham Gooch

India – Mohammad Azharuddina

New Zealand – Martin Crowe

Pakistan – Imran Khan

South Africa – Kepler Wessels

Sri Lanka – Arvinda de Silva

West Indies – Richie Richardson

Zimbabwe – David Houghton

Countries who play Cricket

Pakistan all matches result in cricket world cup 1992

Pakistan vs West indies

Pakistan 220/2 West Indies 221/0 West Indies won by 10 wickets

Pakistan vs Zimbabwe

Pakistan 254/4 Zimbabwe 201/7. Pakistan won by 53 runs

Pakistan vs England

Pakistan 74 England 24/1 washed out no result

Pakistan vs India

India 216/7 Pakistan 173 all out. India won by 43 runs

Pakistan vs South Africa

South Africa 211 Pakistan 173/8 South Africa won by 20 runs (revised target)

Pakistan vs Australia

Pakistan 220/9 Australia 172 Pakistan won by 48 runs

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka 212/6 Pakistan 216/6 Pakistan won by 4 wickets with 5 balls remaining

Pakistan vs New Zealand

New Zealand 166 Pakistan 167/3 Pakistan won by 7 wickets with 32 balls remaining.

New Zealand won all its group matches in the world cup since then. His last pool match was against Pakistan. Pakistan breaks the winning streak of New Zealand and won the group match. Than Again Pakistan meet New Zealand in the first semi-final of the world cup in 1992 and lost again. In this tournament, the New Zealand team lost only two matches in this tournament and both were against Pakistan.

Semi-Finals of Cricket World Cup 1992

Semi-Finalist of 1992 world cup

New Zealand, England, South Africa, and Pakistan qualified for the semi-finals of the world cup in 1992. The semi-finals were played in Auckland New Zealand and Sydney, Australia.

First Semi-Final – Pakistan vs New Zealand

First semi-finalist of 1992 world cup

The first semi-final of the cricket world cup 1992 was played in Auckland between Pakistan and New Zealand which Pakistan won by 4 wickets with 6 balls spare. New Zealand batted first and score 262/7 which was a challenging total. Pakistan 264/6 was chased down for the loss of 6 wickets in 49 overs.

Second Semi-Final – England vs South Africa

Second semi-finalist of 1992 world cup

The second semi-final of the cricket world cup 1992 was played in Sydney between England and South Africa. The day/night match was first reduced to 45 overs innings due to rain. England batted first and scored 252/6 in their 45 overs while South Africa was 230/6 in 42.5 overs when rain interrupted again and a revised target was set for South Africa 252 in 43 overs which means they required 22 runs in 1 remaining ball of their allotted 43 overs. eventually, England won by 19 runs on the D/W method.

Final – Pakistan vs England

Winner of 1992 world cup

The day/night final of the cricket world cup 1992 was played on 25 March 1992 in Melbourne Cricket ground. Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first and scored 249/6 in their allotted 50 overs while chasing the target England all out on 227 in 49.2 overs. So Pakistan won the match and the world cup by 22 runs. Wasim Akram was the man of the match scored 33 runs in just 18 balls and take 3 crucial wickets for 49 runs.

Pakistan won the 1992 Cricket world cup. If you want to read more amazing articles related to sports then give a visit to Follow us on Facebook. To search articles click on the search bar.